

CALL FOR CONTRIBUTIONS

The 2014 American Control Conference will be held June 4 through 6 at the Hilton Portland & Executive Tower. The ACC is the annual conference of the American Automatic Control Council (AACC), the U.S. national member organization of the International Federation for Automatic Control (IFAC). Member societies of the AACC include AIAA, AIChE, ASCE, ASME, IEEE, ISA, SCS, and SIAM. ACC2014 will be centrally located in downtown Portland within blocks of many of Portland's best entertainment and tourist venues.

<u>Contributed Papers</u>: Papers on all aspects of the theory and application of automatic control are invited in the form of regular manuscripts (6 pages). Papers must conform to the policy detailed on the conference web page.

Invited Sessions: Invited sessions consist of 6 papers that collectively present a unifying theme from diverse viewpoints. Proposals must be accompanied by full versions of each paper to be individually reviewed along with the proposal itself.

<u>Tutorial Sessions</u>: Tutorial sessions are organized to provide an introduction to a topic of interest. The format is structured around a main tutorial paper (up to 18 pages) and talk (60 minutes) followed by three presentations (with or without papers of up to 6 pages each) to give a picture of the state of the art. Sessions involving strong industry-academic collaboration are encouraged.

<u>Special Sessions</u>: Special sessions offer a venue for providing exposure to emerging research areas, funding opportunities, and other topics of broad interest to the conference attendees, including industry applications or opportunities. Special sessions proposed do not require submitted papers and are held over lunch breaks or in the evenings.

<u>Communities of Interest Micro-Sessions</u>: These Special-Sessions can be proposed on any topic of interest to the conference attendees. The proposed participants may be joined by general conference attendees, each presenting 1-2 slides on the topic of interest, followed by informal or moderated discussion. Industry participants are especially invited to propose micro-sessions.

<u>**Pre-Conference Workshops:**</u> Workshops will be held on June 3, 2014. Proposals for workshops addressing novel control methodologies and nonstandard control applications and workshops with strong tutorial value are encouraged.

IMPORTANT DATES

All papers and sessions proposals are due **SEPTEMBER 27, 2013**. The deadline for workshop proposals is **OCTOBER 18, 2013**. All submissions are made through the conference submission website:

http://www.a2c2.org/conferences/acc2014/

OPERATING COMMITTEE

Dawn Tilbury, Univ. of Michigan (Chair) Gary Balas, University of Minnesota Belinda Batten, Oregon State University Carolyn Beck, University of Illinois Ken Butts, Toyota R. Scott Erwin, AFRL Sahika Genc, GE Global Research Jerome P. Lynch, University of Michigan Mehran Mesbahi, Univ. of Washington Michael Moan, Raytheon Daniel Rivera, Arizona State University Murti Salapaka, University of Minnesota Fumin Zhang, Georgia Tech

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Kira Barton, University of Michigan Marcello Canova, Ohio State University Dumitru Caruntu, UT Pan American Abhijit Chakraborty, Cummins, Inc Xiang Chen, University of Windsor Fahmida Chowdhury, NSF Garrett Clayton, Villanova University J. Dhupa, Nanyang Tech University Jorge Esmeral, National Univ. Colombia P. Fleming, Nat. Renewable Energy Lab Brandon Hency, Cornell University Suresh Joshi, NASA Langley Tamas Keviczky, TU Delft Manish Kumar, University of Toledo Kam Leang, University of Nevada-Reno Ir-Shin Li, Washington Univ. in St. Louis Sandipan Mishra, RPI Scott Moura, UCSD Jianbin Nie, Western Digital Kenn Oldham, University of Michigan Alex Olshevsky, University of Illinois Diane Peters, LMS International Isabelle Queninnec, LAAS-CNRS Guarav Raina, University of Cambridge Wei Ren, Utah State University David Schoenwald, Sandia National Lab Jeff Scruggs, University of Michigan Mahdi Shahbakhti, Michigan Tech Greg Stewart, Honeywell Sophie Tabouriech, LAAS-CNRS Ardalan Vahidi, Clemson University Balint Vanek, Hungarian Acad. Science Yigang Wang, Eaton Corporation Warren White, Kansas State University Craig Woolsey, Virginia Tech N. Eva Wu, Binghamton University Jingang Yi, Rutgers University Fumin Zhang, Georgia Tech Qingze Zou, Rutgers University











siam